You actually have two options to get rid of Facebook:
- you can deactivate your account (meaning it can be reactivated anytime afterward by logging back in, although you will have lost your friends list, photos and interests)
- you can permanently deleting your account.
First I’ll cover deactivating your account, followed by permanently deleting your account.
How to deactivate a Facebook account
1. Hit the menu button in the top right-hand corner. It’s the white one with three horizontal bars (not the blue one above it with the person next to it).
2. Scroll down to Account Settings, then Security.
3. At the bottom of the Security Settings page you’ll see Account > Deactivate. This is what you’re looking for. Tap Deactivate.
4. You’ll be prompted to re-enter your password. Do so.
5. You’ll then be taken to a departure survey asking you to explain why you want to delete your Facebook account. You have to pick something so do so.
6. Make sure to check the box at the bottom so you don’t get follow up emails from Facebook after you delete your Facebook account.
7. Tap Deactivate and you’ll be required to enter your password one final time. This is the very last step to deactivating your account. Once you tap Deactivate you’ll be taken back to the app login screen. Don’t login again with this account. Use your other Facebook accounts!
How to delete a Facebook account permanently
To permanently delete your Facebook account, meaning it can never be resurrected, you have to specifically request Facebook to do this. The process can take up to 90 days to be completed!
Click here. in order to delete your account permanently. The link will open in your browser and you have to login a last time!